Our website uses cookies to improve your experience. Click here to see our Cookie Policy.

Accept and Close this Notice
Specialist source for the best Jazz & Nostalgia CDs around | Upbeat Recordings
0843 658 0856
Source of the best jazz &
nostalgia CDs around today

SISTER ROSETTA THARPE - The One and Only Queen of Hot Gospel

SISTER ROSETTA THARPE - The One and Only Queen of Hot Gospel
CD / Product Number: URCD242

Glorious album including the never-before released hilarious recording of her public wedding ceremony conducted by fellow gospel star Reverend Kelsey before an audience of 25,000 fans in Washington DC. A must have for all Tharpe fans!Sister Rosetta Tharpe was perhaps the first artist to make the successful crossover between gospel and secular blues, achieving international commercial success in both markets. Her unique style of guitar playing, especially her embracing of electric blues, brought a new dimension to her delivery of gospel songs, while she was equally at home in front of '40s swing bands like Lucky Millander's. This collection spans the first decades of her career from 1938 to 1951, and amply illustrates why she was such an influence on major stars of the rock 'n' roll and blues/rock era.


Tracks 1 - 6 Sister Rosetta Tharpe vocal and guitar - New York , October 31 1938
Tracks 7-8 Sister Rosetta Tharpe vocal and guitar (1) with Lucky Millinder and his Orchestra William ‘Chiefie’ Scott, Archie Johnson, Nelson Bryant trumpets George Stevenson, Donald Cole, Eli Robinson, trombones George James, Billy Bowen, alto saxes Buster Bailey, clarinet, tenor sax, Stafford Simon tenor sax, Ernest Purce baritone sax Bill Doggett piano Trevor Bacon guitar Abe Bolar bass Panama Francis drums Millinder leader
Track 9 As tracks 7/8 except Tharpe does not play guitar, Floyd Brady and Edward Morant replace Cole and Robinson trombones and Ted Barnett replaces Bowen on alto
Track 10 As track 9 except Tharpe electric guitar, Freddie Webster replaces Scott trumpet, Sandy Williams replaces Brady trombone, Sterling Marlow guitar, George Duvivier bass
Tracks 11-14 Sister Rosetta Tharpe vocal/guitar and Marie Knight vocal with Sam Price Trio: Sammy Price piano Pops Foster bass, Kenny Clarke drums
Tracks 15-21 As last except Abe Bolar bass Harold `Doc’ West drums
As last except Billy Taylor bass
Tracks 22-23 Sister Rosetta Tharpe vocal/guitar ,accompanied by the James Roots Quartet, Roots organ Grady Martin guitar Billy Taylor bass Herbert Cowans drums
The Rosetta Gospel Singers: Sarah Brooks first soprano Lottie Henry second soprano Barbara Johnson first contralto Erma Wallace second contralto
Track 24 BONUS TRACK A location recording of The Wedding Ceremony of Sister Rosetta Tharpe and Russell Morrison conducted by Reverend Samuel Kelsey, pastor of the Church of God in Christ, at Griffith Stadium ,Washington D.C. on July 3 1951.

1. Rock Me
2. I Looked Down The Line (And I Wondered)
3. God Don't Like It
4. The End of My Journey
5. Sit Down
6. Just A Closer Walk with Thee
7. Trouble in Mind
8. Rock Daniel
9. Four or Five Times
10. That's All
11. Didn't It Rain
12. Beams of Heaven
13. Up Above My Head I Hear Music In The Air
14. Precious Memories
15. Strange Things Happen Every Day
16. How Far From God
17. When I Move to the Sky
18. Jesus Is Here To Stay
19. This Train
20. Family Prayer
21. Use Me Lord
22. Where Were You When They Crucified My Lord
23. The Bells of St Mary's
24. Bonus Track - The Wedding 1951

Reviews of This Recording

It is difficult to imagine that any objective jazz enthusiast or blues lover would not wish to have this superb record in his or her collection.
John Martin - The Jazz Rag - Summer 2012